The Town History of Bagabag Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines

Bagabag Nueva Vizcaya Municipal Hall
Bagabag Nueva Vizcaya Municipal Hall

The town of Bagabag was founded on October 7, 1741, by Padre Antonio del Campo, a Spanish friar at Sitio “Nagcumventuan”, a place now located between Pogosino, Bagabag and Bangar, Solano. The present name of the Sitio bears proof to the fact that the Spanish priest constructed a church in the original townsite.

The first priests were Padre Luis Sierra who came in 1743, and Padre Alejandro Vidal, who was the Vicar Provincial. They organized the town in 1754. Due to the continuous erosion and flooding caused by the Magat River and for its increasing population and growth, Padre Vidal transferred the townsite to “Nassa” (a place between Barangays Lantap and Santa Lucia) then transferred again to its present site where numerous buri palms were then growing. It was from this buri palm plant the name of Bagabag originated, the same being called by the natives as “bagbag”.

Bagabag is composed of 17 barangays:

  1. Bakir
  2. Lantap
  3. Paniki
  4. San Pedro
  5. Tuao North
  6. Villa Quirino
  7. Baretbet
  8. Murong
  9. Pogonsino
  10. Santa Cruz
  11. Tuao South
  12. Villaros
  13. Careb
  14. Nangalisan
  15. San Geronimo
  16. Santa Lucia
  17. Villa Coloma

Bagabag's town fiesta is called Pabbalat Festival. The festivity of the town held every 4th week of September is a fiesta opened with parades, playground demonstration, and socialization programs. A beauty search is also held to determine Ms. Bagabag. Each Barangay is given a booth to showcase their respective products like crops, vegetables, and fruits as an indication of rich and productive harvest. The pineapple as their One Town One Product (OTOP) is also highlighted.

Their patronal fiesta is St. Jerome held every September 30.


  1. Nueva Vizcaya Government. (n.d.). Bagabag [blog post]. Retrieved from
  2. LGU Bagabag Facebook Account Bagabag Municipal Hall [Photograph of Bagabag Municipal Hall]. Retrieved from

Your voice matters. Discussions are moderated for civility before being published on the blog. Read my comment policy here.

Previous Post Next Post