The Town History of Kayapa Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines

Kayapa Nueva Vizcaya Municipal Hall
Kayapa Nueva Vizcaya Municipal Hall

In 1754, Governor-General Don Arandia sent Comandante Dovilla, who was based in Pangasinan, to establish a civil government and spread Christianity among the non-Christian Tribes. The mission first saw the Valley of Yapa (Yapa meaning bountiful) which was inhabited by the Allagots, the second descendants of the Bormangi and Owak, and the third descendants of the Kalanguya, Ibaloi, Ilo-o and Karao tribes who settled in the fertile valley. When the commandante and his company arrived in the valley of Yapa, the villagers entertained them under a big tree called “Kalabao” which stood in the middle of the valley. It was from these words “Kalabao” and “Yapa” where the present name “Kayapa” was coined.

On January 29, 1915, Governor-General Francis Burton Harrison signed and issued Executive Order No. 9, transferring all territories of the former Spanish Commandancia of Kayapa, except the area which lies within the Benguet watershed of the Agno River, from the sub-Province of Benguet to the Province of Nueva Vizcaya. On November 11, 1950, President Elpidio Quirino signed Executive Order No. 368 proclaiming the Municipality of Kayapa as a regular town, thus, merging Kayapa and Pingkian into one town as it is today.

Kayapa is composed of 30 barangays:

  1. Acacia
  2. Ansipsip
  3. Balangabang
  4. Besong
  5. Cabalatan
  6. Cabanglasan
  7. Mapayao
  8. Pangawan
  9. Kayapa Proper East
  10. Talecabcab
  11. Alang-salacsac
  12. Baan
  13. Balete
  14. Binalian
  15. Castillo Village
  16. Latbang
  17. Nansiakan
  18. Pinayag
  19. Kayapa Proper West
  20. Tidang Village
  21. Amelong Labeng
  22. Babadi
  23. Banao
  24. Buyasyas
  25. Cabayo
  26. Lawigan
  27. Pampang
  28. Pingkian
  29. San fabian
  30. Tubongan

Kayapa's town fiesta is called Owag-shi Kayapa Festival held every 4th week of January. The residents of this upland Municipality celebrate their fiesta with agricultural product displays, variety shows, parlor games, people’s night, cultural shows, and street dancing from the different IP groups of this upland town.

Their patronal fiesta is St. Joseph, Husband of Mary held every March 19.


  1. Nueva Vizcaya Government. (n.d.). Kayapa [blog post]. Retrieved from
  2. Photograph of Kayapa Municipal Hall by Judgefloro / Public domain.

Your voice matters. Discussions are moderated for civility before being published on the blog. Read my comment policy here.

Previous Post Next Post